How to understand python documentation? A blog about documentation and why its essential for you to read it.

How to understand python documentation? A blog about documentation and why its essential for you to read it.

A beginner's guide to navigate through Python documentation

The best way to learn a programming language is to teach yourself.

Introduction

Are you feeling a bit intimidated? You're not alone. I remember when I first started learning python, I felt lost. This frustration was partially because I didn't know how to navigate.The documentation is extensive, and doesn't have a real "getting started" guide that can help you rapidly learn the basics of Python. So here's my attempt at breaking down the documentation to help someone just starting out learn to navigate it.

Its Free!!

Let's be honest: The internet is a great place to learn.

But there are still some things that can only be learned in person. I've been working with Python for a while now and I've learned a lot since then, but I still remember how hard it was when I first started out When it comes to learning Python as there's a lot of documentation out there if you don't know where to look.

Bootcamps don't offer enough in-depth information and career support.

I am nothing against bootcamps. In fact, I think they are a great way to learn some basics and get your foot in the door of a new career. However, bootcamps don't offer enough in-depth information or career support and learning to navigate documentation is something you will use every day at work.

The documentation is extremely flexible and is available in many languages such as English, Spanish, German, Italian, French, Chinese and more!

The official Python documentation is maintained by the Python Software Foundation (PSF). It's a great resource for learning about the language. There are two different versions of the documentation:

  • The standard library reference (referred to as "the library" below) : contains detailed descriptions of all built-in module functions and classes. This section contains all of the information that you'll need when writing code that uses the standard library modules.

  • The other major version of the Python documentation is known as The Python Language Reference. This document describes how Python works internally at a lower level than what we've seen so far (but still much higher than machine code).

Takeaway

If you are looking for a place to start, I would highly recommend checking out the official Python documentation. It is very simple to use and can be accessed on their website or by downloading it as an eBook! Section: You can find the documentation here:

About me?

🚀 I'm an actionable data analyst. I play with data (a lot) in order to find trends and define the "why" behind different behaviors. I do it so you don't have to. 🖥️Life-long Student of Data with 01 years of experience in data analysis. 🎯 My most interesting hobby is teaching myself something new every day. 🚀In my spare time, I love to swim, Gym, cook food and travel to explore myself.